Important Things to Know about Florida Traffic Laws
Florida is a lovely place to live and travel through with roads that span miles of elaborate forest land, creeks, rivers, and oceans. But driving on those roads involves knowing the laws that pertain to this beautiful state. If one doesn’t know the laws, it could get them into some serious trouble.
There’s a lot to consider related to driving laws and as a driver, it’s your responsibility to know how these laws are governed. It’s important to understand the laws surrounding one’s vehicle and one’s driving habits in order to avoid a ticket, or worse.
Anytime someone drives should also be a time of caution and precaution. The safer the driver they are, the safer they are to themselves and other drivers on the road. Avoiding an accident is just one way to protect oneself from a traffic ticket.
In this article, we’re discussing various Florida traffic laws that people need to know to be the best drivers they can be. Keep reading to learn more.
Florida Traffic Laws
Traffic laws differ from state to state so it’s important to know the rules where one is driving, especially if they’re native to the state.
Here are some basics relating Florida traffic laws.
Anytime someone moves to a new state, there are certain requirements to maintain legal status with the department of motor vehicles.
In most cases, one can relocate to Florida without taking a driving test to obtain a driver license. Some situations may require at least a written test, however.
One will also need to maintain insurance coverage for their vehicle by a licensed insurance company in the state of Florida. This information is used to prove identity for registration purposes. Vehicles must be registered with the state no later than 30 days after relocation.
Florida state law requires all drivers to maintain insurance for their car, truck, SUV, or motorcycle. Boats should also be insured if they’re on the road.
One should plan to carry personal injury protection and bodily injury liability at the very least. This covers injury-related expenses regardless of fault in an accident. Bodily injury liability is not always required but could be depending on previous driving records.
Insurance rates will differ for different drivers. Those with excellent driving records should expect low rates while those with blemishes on their record might pay more. The minimum required insurance coverage should be carried on all vehicles at all times without a lapse in coverage.
Registering a vehicle in Florida requires that the driver carry insurance. The DMV will verify the proof of ownership of the vehicle, VIN number and proof of insurance.
For new vehicles, a manufacturer’s Florida Certificat of Title must be presented to obtain registration. Used vehicles require a VIN number verification.
All vehicles must display the license plates distributed by the DMV at all times. The DMV will also issue a vehicle registration and validation decal stating expiration.
Driving without registration can cost drivers thousands of dollars in fines and penalties. In some cases, the vehicle can be impounded and the owner is responsible for fines associated with the impound yard as well.
New Florida Residents
New residents to the state of Florida should educate themselves on all Florida traffic laws when moving to the state.
Licensing and registration are due within 30 days of a move in order to establish residency. Don’t wait until the last minute!
Vehicle insurance must cover the vehicle and driver through a licensed Florida insurance company in order to secure registration.
It’s illegal to drive under the influence of drugs or alcohol in the state of Florida. Getting pulled over in this instance allows an officer to request a blood, urine, or breath test to verify sobriety. This is stated in the driver license requirements documentation.
If one refuses to take any of these requested tests, it could result in a one-year suspension of their driver license. Refusing a second time will result in an 18-month suspension.
Florida maintains a zero tolerance law for drivers under the age of 21. Any driver pulled over for driving under the influence, under the age of 21 will automatically have their driver license suspended for six months. This relates to a blood alcohol content, or BAC, of .02 or higher.
The legal limit for BAC for drivers over the age of 21 is .08.
Driving under the influence is a serious offense that can cost thousands of dollars in legal fees, fines and auto insurance premium increases.
Fines double in speeding in school zones with a fine of $550. Anybody caught driving over the speed limit will be ticketed and fined.
The speed limit surrounding most Florida schools is 20 mph and speed limit signs are posted around the schools to notify drivers when entering a school zone. The signs offer flashing yellow lights that indicate when it’s time to slow down. There are also signs to notify drivers when they’re leaving a school zone.
It’s also important to pay attention to school buses and school bus stops. Passing a stopped school bus can cost 4 points on a driving record, not to mention it’s absolutely dangerous.
It’s also illegal to speed through construction zones. Fines are doubled in these circumstances.
Traffic fines for speeding range from $120-$570 on average depending on how many miles over the speed limit the driver was speeding.
Highway speeds are generally posted at 70 mph and local streets and byways range anywhere from 35-55 mph.
Don’t speed if you want to avoid driving record infractions, fines, and in some cases, court costs.
One should always make sure they’re aware of all the Florida traffic laws when they’re driving through to prevent hefty fines and penalties. There’s nothing worse than getting a ticket out of state where it can’t be fought without going back to the state to appear in court.
General offenses won’t cost too much trouble, but one should always adhere to the laws to avoid potential hazards such as fines and/or jail time. Floridians should pay close attention to any updates in the law in order to maintain legal status at all times.
In in a situation that involves Florida traffic laws? Contact us. We can help.