Florida Vehicle Registration Basics
Did you know that you can get a failing to register vehicle ticket in Florida? Here’s what you need to know about registering your vehicle in Florida and what a “failing to register a vehicle” ticket is.
Before Registering a Vehicle in Florida
Registration of a vehicle in Florida provides you with a Florida license plate, a decal, and a certificate. It is legally required that Florida residents register their cars. New residents must do so within ten days of “becoming employed, placing children in public school, or establishing residency.” Failure to do so may result in a ticket or fine.
If you’ve purchased a new vehicle or are moving to Florida, there are a couple of things you need to do before registering your vehicle.
First, you’ll want to get Florida driver’s insurance if you don’t already have it. You’ll need proof of insurance when you go to register as driver’s insurance is mandatory.
Next, you’ll want to check the fee schedule so you can have a better understanding of how much your registration will cost.
You’ll also want to grab your title so you can present it.
Fees Associated with Vehicle Registration
Don’t forget to bring your checkbook or a money order with you to register your vehicle. How much will registration set you back? Well, if you’re registering for the first time, be prepared to shell out a couple of hundred bucks. You can tally up your total using this form. Note that there are some exceptions to the initial registration fee.
Fees vary based on the weight and class of your vehicle. In addition, for private vehicles, your registration will start on the first day of your birth month and will not be prorated. That means you may have to pay your registration tax again within the same year—though you won’t be faced with the large initial fee again.
If you’re registering a car you’ve had for a while in Florida, you may be required to get a new license plate. Florida license plates are only valid for ten years and must then be replaced. Make sure to factor this into your costs.
What Happens if You Don’t Register Your Vehicle?
Registering your vehicle late will likely result in a fee. However, if you are caught with an unregistered vehicle, the consequences are different.
If you have not registered your vehicle in Florida and have resided in the state for over 6 months, you may be faced with:
- A second-degree misdemeanor charge
- Up to 60 days in jail
- Up to a $500 fine
- Up to six months of probation
If you’ve previously registered in Florida but have allowed your registration to lapse, your penalties will depend on how long it has lapsed.
Failing to register your vehicle in Florida can have serious consequences and can even affect your insurance rates.
Contact a Florida Failing to Register a Vehicle Ticket Attorney
Getting your vehicle registered within the timeline allowed by Florida law can be difficult, especially if you’re starting a new job and trying to get a family settled in a new neighborhood. Whatever your reason, discussing your ticket with a Florida failure to register ticket attorney can provide you with legal options.
At Florida Ticket Firm, we help residents with all types of tickets, from red light tickets and reckless driving to texting while driving tickets. We understand the traffic court system and have learned the best ways to legally challenge tickets. So rather than spending days trying to learn about the system and waiting in court to be called, consider giving us a call. Our ticket expertise can help you successfully challenge any ticket—including a failure to register a vehicle ticket.
There are tight deadlines for contesting a ticket, so give us a call today!